FORT MASSAPEAG LECTURE 4/7/2026 MPL
For centuries, the land around Fort Massapeag lay dormant until the 1930s, when it was sold for the creation of the Harbor Green residential community.
Unearthing the Past: As construction began, workers uncovered a burial site containing over 20 human skeletons. This discovery reignited local legends of a massacre and unfortunately attracted treasure hunters, leading to the looting and loss of many precious artifacts.
A Call to Preservation: Witnessing the destruction, local preservationists and early archaeologists stepped in. Recognizing the site's immense cultural value, they fought to rescue what remained of Fort Massapeag, ensuring its history would not be lost to suburban development.
This Nassau Daily Review article from December 1933 describes the efforts of local Seaford historian Charles Herold to halt construction on the Fort Massapeag site and identify it as historic. Image courtesy Garvies Point Museum
Martin “Matt” Schreiner works a test pit in 1938 at the burial ground situated near the Fort Massapeag site off Bay Drive. Human remains were found here when Bar Harbor was being developed in the 1930s. Image courtesy of The Queens Borough Public Library, Archives, Ralph Solecki Photographs.